In accordance with Section 192 (1) of the Municipal Government Act 2000 Chapter M-26, the Organizational Meeting of the Municipal District of Wainwright No. 61 was held in the Council Chambers in the Municipal Administration Building in Wainwright, Alberta on Wednesday, October 16th, 2012 commencing at 9:00 a.m.

Present: Councillors Oscar Buck, Shelly Andersen, Phil Valleau, Ted Wilkinson, Myron Zajic, Bruce Cummins, and Bob Barss; also, Municipal Administrator Kelly Buchinski and Assistant Municipal Administrator Bonnie Milton.

The Municipal Administrator called the meeting to order at 9:00 a.m.

The Municipal Administrator called for nominations for the Office of Reeve. Clr. Buck nominated Clr. Barss. The Municipal Administrator called for nominations for the second and third time and final time for the Office of Reeve.

429.12 Moved by Clr. Zajic that nominations cease. <u>CARRIED UNANIMOUSLY</u>

> Clr. Barss was declared elected as Reeve for 2012/13 and took the Official Oath of Office.

> Reeve Barss thanked Clr. Buck for the nomination and thanked Council for their support and noted how well this Council works together. Barss and his wife, Susan would also like to thank this Council for the support they have given with the birth of their granddaughter.

> Reeve Barss assumed the Chair and called for nominations for the Office of Deputy Reeve. Clr. Zajic nominated Clr. Wilkinson. The Reeve called for nominations for the second time then the third and final time for the Office of Deputy Reeve.

430.12 Moved by Clr. Buck that nominations cease. CARRIED UNANIMOUSLY

> Clr. Wilkinson was declared elected as Deputy Reeve for 2012/2013 and took the Official Oath of Office.

> Deputy Reeve Wilkinson thanked Clr. Zajic for the nomination and the whole Council for their support.

> A copy of the Municipal Government Act Revised Statutes of Alberta 2000, Chapter M-26 Current as of November 24th, 2010 was handed out to all Councillors.

431.12 Moved by Clr. Valleau that the Signing Officials for the Municipal District of Wainwright No. 61 be the Reeve or Deputy Reeve, together with the Municipal Administrator Kelly Buchinski or the Assistant Municipal Administrator Bonnie Milton. CARRIED

432.12 Moved by Clr. Buck that the Municipal District of Wainwright No. 61 utilize the banking facilities offered by ATB Financial in Wainwright. CARRIED

- Wilkinson and alternate Reeve Barss
- Composite Assessment Review Board Clr. Wilkinson and Reeve Barss
- Finance Committee Reeve, one Councillor alternating by division number, the Assistant Municipal Administrator or the Municipal Accountant and the Director of Public Works or his appointment if desired
- Insurance, Bylaws, Agreements and Regulations Committee Reeve Barss, Clrs. Zajic and Cummins, Director of Public Works and Municipal Administrator
- Public Relations Committee for the Western Area Training Centre (WATC) – Reeve, Deputy Reeve and the Municipal Administrator
- Policy Committee all Councillors, Municipal Administrator and all Department Heads

CARRIED

AGRICULTURAL SERVICE BOARD

Agricultural Fieldman, James Schwindt attended the meeting room 9:05 a.m. to 9:10 a.m.

- Moved by Clr. Andersen that the committees or appointments listed below be comprised as follows for the 2012/2013 term:
 - Wainwright Seed Cleaning Plant Reeve Barss and alternate Clr. Cummins
 - Edgerton Seed Cleaning Plant Clr. Zajic and alternate Clr. Wilkinson
 - Weed Inspectors Agricultural Fieldman, Assistant Agricultural Fieldman, Dennis Fuder and seasonal inspectors to be appointed in the spring
 - Soil Conservation Officers Agricultural Fieldman and Assistant Agricultural Fieldman
 - Pest Control Officers Agricultural Fieldman, Assistant Agricultural Fieldman and Rod Gabrielson
 - Agricultural Service Board Clr. Cummins (Chairman) and Clr. Wilkinson be appointed to the Agricultural Service Board on a two (2) year rotation and that farm member appointments be appointed on a three (3) year rotation basis of which Grant Aykroyd has one (1) year remaining and Rod Thirsk has two (2) years remaining and Steven Raasok new farm member.

CARRIED

DEVELOPMENT

- 436.12 Moved by Clr. Wilkinson that the committees or appointments listed below be comprised as follows for the 2012/2013 term:
 - Subdivision and Development/Weed Control Act/Pest Control Act/Soil Conservation Act Appeal Board – public members John

MUNICIPAL PROPERTY

- 437.12 Moved by Clr. Buck that the committees or appointments listed below be comprised as follows for the 2012/2013 term:
 - Municipal Property Committee Buildings, Grounds, Equipment, Parks & Recreation and Environmental – All Councillors, the Municipal Administrator, Director of Public Works, Director of Transportation and Safety & Utilities Manager
 - Airport Committee Clr. Cummins, Municipal Administrator and Director of Transportation

CARRIED

HEALTH AND WELFARE

- 438.12 Moved by Clr. Valleau that the committees or appointments listed below be comprised as follows for the 2012/2013 term:
 - Wainwright & District Family & Community Services Clr. Wilkinson and Clr. Zajic
 - Wainwright & District Physician Recruitment Committee Clr. Zajic
 - Community Health Foundation Clr. Zajic
 - Battle River Foundation (Lodge) Clr. Andersen and Clr. Buck

CARRIED

ENVIRONMENT TREATMENT SERVICES

- Moved by Clr. Valleau that the committees or appointments listed below be comprised as follows for the 2012/2013 term:
 - Wainwright Regional Waste to Energy Authority Clr. Wilkinson and Reeve Barss

CARRIED

RECREATION AND COMMUNITY SERVICES

- 440.12 Moved by Clr. Buck that the committees or appointments listed below be comprised as follows for the 2012/2013 term:
 - Chauvin Rural Recreation Area Board Clr. Buck and members Dennis Gibb and Brian Johnson
 - Edgerton Rural Recreation Area Board Clr. Wilkinson, Clr. Zajic and members Layne Clark, Danny Strayer, David Fraser, and Stephanie Spornitz
 - Wainwright Rural Recreation Area Board Clr. Valleau, Clr. Cummins and members Jodi Fletcher, Karla McNary and Bernie Buzik
 - Town of Wainwright Recreation Area Board Clr. Valleau and Clr. Cummins

 Economic Development Committee – Clr. Valleau, Advisors to the Committee – Municipal Administrator and Development Officer

CARRIED

PROTECTION TO PERSONS & PROPERTY

- 441.12 Moved by Clr. Zajic that the committees or appointments listed below be comprised as follows for the 2012/13 term:
 - Chauvin Fire Area Board Clr. Buck and Rural Representatives Craig Mailer and Kenny Schaffer
 - Edgerton Fire Area Board Clr. Wilkinson and Clr. Zajic and Rural Representative Wayne Leskow and one more to be appointed at a later date.
 - Wainwright Fire Area Board Clrs. Andersen, Cummins and Valleau
 - Irma Fire Area Board Clr. Andersen, Reeve Barss and Rural Representatives Greg Fischer and Almon Archibald
 - Emergency Management Service Committee Clr. Valleau and Clr. Zajic
 - Director of Emergency Management Municipal Administrator
 - Deputy Director of Emergency Management Assistant Municipal Administrator
 - M.D. Safety Committee all Councillors, the Municipal Administrator and Department Heads
 - Wainwright Ambulance Committee Reeve Barss and Clr. Wilkinson
 - Bailiff Agricultural Fieldman
 - Fire Wardens all Councillors, Administrator, Agricultural Fieldman, Assistant Agricultural Fieldman, Fire Chiefs and Deputy Fire Chiefs
 - E911 Advisory Committee Clr. Wilkinson

<u>CARRIED</u>

(9:30	CARRIED	adjourned.	be	meeting	Cummins th	by Clr.	Moved a.m.)	442.12
Reeve								
 iistrator	nicipal Admir	Mur						