Nomination Day

Nomination Day is September 18th, 2017 between 10:00 a.m. and 12:00 Noon.

Election Day

Election day is October 16th, 2017 from 10:00 a.m. to 8:00 p.m.

Advanced Voting is October 5th, 2017 from 10:00 a.m. to 6:00 p.m.



Local Authorities Election Act

Frequently Asked Questions about Municipal Elections

Alberta Municipal Affairs - Municipal Elections Information

Alberta Government - Projects, priorities and consultations


Candidate Registration

In accordance with the changes to the Local Authorities Election Act, the M.D. of Wainwright No .61 will be maintaining a registry of individuals that intend to be candidates in future elections on or after January 1, 2014. 

If someone wishes to run in the M.D. of Wainwright No. 61 election and intends to begin raising funds and receive donations for that purpose, they must be registered with the Municipality under Section 147.21 of the Act before accepting any campaign contributions.  This does not apply to a candidate if the candidate’s entire election campaign is funded exclusively out of the candidate’s own funds up to a maximum of $10,000.  A candidate may still register indicating they are self-funded and intend to submit nomination papers on Nomination Day.

The future candidate must disclose his/her intent to run by providing the following information using the form below: 

  • Full name and address of the candidate,
  • Addresses of the place or places where records of the candidate are maintained and of the place to which communications may be addressed,
  • Names and addresses of the financial institutions to be used for the purpose of depositing campaign contributions, and
  • Names of the signing authorities for all institutions listed.

Changes to any of the information within the registry must be reported to the M.D. of Wainwright No. 61 within 48 hours of the changes taking effect in writing, by mail, fax, or electronic mail. Please be advised that the information contained within the directory is public. 

Candidate Registry for the 2017 Municipal Election

First Last
Phil Valleau
Glen Morey
Ted Wilkinson
Bob Barss
Bruce Cummins
Ryley Andersen



Municipal District of Wainwright No. 61
Nomination Day Results
September 18, 2017

Division 1
Oscar Buck - Incumbent
Arnold (Sam) Seim

Division 2
Ted Wilkinson - Incumbent
Garrett Fraser
Lance Krawchuk

Division 3
Ryley Andersen - Acclaimed

Division 4
Phil Valleau - Incumbent
Glenn Morey

Division 5
Bruce Cummins - Incumbent/Acclaimed

Division 6
Bill Lawson - Incumbent/Acclaimed

Division 7
Bob Barss - Incumbent/Acclaimed